The history of the European Orthodontic Society

16th May 1907 Foundation of the European Orthodontic Society by 10 Charter members
27th September 1907

The first meeting of the Society in Berlin at the Grand Hotel de Russie
President: Dr W G Law
The constitution of the Society was agreed
Dr E H Angle was elected an Honorary Member

1914-1919 World War I: No meetings
1931 Co-operation in the Second International Orthodontic Congress
1939-1946 World War II: No meetings

The 28th Congress of the Society
President: Dr J A C Duyzings
Special event: a regatta was held and a model of a Dutch windmill was presented to the winners from Belgium.

1953 The Dutch Society for the Study of Orthodontics gave to the EOS a magnificent silver model of a windmill, which was to be presented each year to the winner of the Silver Mill competition.
The Silver Mill competition:

A light-hearted competition with a national flavour which is not too serious but is judged fairly
It is a sport or a game for teams of the different countries represented at the annual congress
The secret is only displayed just before the competition starts, it is a surprise.
Each winner is presented with a certificate with the outline in silver of the Silver Mill
The original Silver Mill resides permanently in the European Orthodontic Society's headquarters in Hallam Street, London, and its base is inscribed with the names of the winners and the sport.

1970 Death of Sheldon Friel: Past President and Honorary Member of the EOS
His family gave a bequest to the Society to be used to commemorate his services to orthodontics and to the European Orthodontic Society
Each year a lecture known as the Sheldon Friel Memorial Lecture is given by an eminent scientist to commemorate his contribution to the Society.
1973 Co-operation in the Third International Orthodontic Congress

Regular congresses of the Society are held annually in different European countries.  

The Society is affiliated to the World Federation of Orthodontists and has close co-operation with the European Federation of Orthodontic Specialists Association.